Student Leadership

Leadership is a big part of the culture at the Dugoni School. Our students have earned national recognition for leadership in dental education and the profession, and the school is considered a hot bed for developing student leaders who are well versed in local, state and national issues. During the past five years, our students have been elected or appointed to some of the highest profile student leadership positions in the nation.

Leadership of this caliber doesn't happen by accident. Leadership development is so important to us, that we have included it as one of the dental school's core values. We offer many opportunities for our students to gain experience, assume leadership roles and grow. Student leadership has flourished at the Dugoni School thanks to our strong and effective student government, wide variety of mentoring and leadership opportunities and the constant encouragement from administrators and faculty to become involved.

One the most important concepts we embrace is that leaders are not born, they are made. That is, leadership is not an inherited ability but rather a set of skills that can be taught, acquired and nurtured. Leadership talent exists in most people and only needs to be exposed and developed.

In the words of Dean Emeritus Dr. Arthur A. Dugoni: "At Pacific, we grow people and along the way they become doctors."

2017-2018 Associated Student Body Leadership

Associated Student Body Cabinet

President: Albert Young, DDS 2018
Vice President: Travis Yarris, DDS 2018
Treasurer: Aaron Sulaeman, DDS 2018
Jacqui Payne, DDS 2019
Rep at Large: Cathy Han, DDS 2019

DDS 2018 Class Officers

President: Katherine Diep
Vice President: Blake Swimmer
Clinic Ambassador: Brad Coons
Ethics Rep: Chad Sloan
Co-Historians: James Huang, Sean Sunyoto
Webmaster: Nainesh Tailor
ADEA Rep: William Keeton
ASDA Rep: Trent Ichiuji
CDA Rep: Kevin Kai
SCOPE Reps: Natalie Okuhara, Matt Parisek

IDS 2018 Class Officers

President: Dr. Gianina Correa Nixon
Vice President: Dr. Divakar Prakash
Class Rep: Dr. Abby Gail Shalaby
Clinic Ambassador: Dr. Arezoo Heshmati
Ethics Rep: Dr. Bhavik Makwana
Historian: Dr. Rhutvi Virani
ADEA Rep: Dr. Grishma Patel
ASDA Rep: Dr. Lakshmi Vishwanat
CDA Rep: Dr. Aparna Manikkath
SCOPE Rep: Dr. Avni Bhula

DH 2018 Class Officers

President: Nadine Mendoza
Vice President: Lily Xie
Secretary: Vivian Ho
Treasurer: Andrew Nakhla
Historian: Stephanie Bodemeijer
Corporate Rep: Janet Giang
Internal Social Chair: Breana Harrison-Ingles
External Social Chair: June Long
ADEA/CDHEA Rep: Dani Joudi
CDHA Rep: Allison Yochim

DDS 2019 Class Officers

President: Marilyn Nguyen
Vice President: Grace Kim
Clinic Ambassador: Conor Maguire
Ethics Rep: Jackson Partin
Historian: Alan Williams
Webmaster: Brandon Rebottaro
ADEA Rep: Hannah Fox
ASDA Rep: Renz Antonio
CDA Rep: Jasmine Flake
SCOPE Reps: Allen Abrishami, Alex Rauchle

IDS 2019 Class Officers

President: Dr. Timur Abashev
Vice President: Dr. Priyanka Tayee
Class Rep: Dr. Swetha Kanukula
Clinic Ambassador: Dr. Kero Zaklama
Ethics Rep: Dr. Sanya Okumu
Historian: Open
ADEA Rep: Dr. Mahek Pipalia
ASDA Rep: Dr. Hasnain Abbas
CDA Rep: Dr. Sayali Bhavsar
SCOPE Rep: Dr. Sachan Bhatia

DH 2019 Class Officers

President: Emily Yang
Vice President/SCOPE Rep: Brianna Prince
Secretary: Simon Ton
Treasurer: Natty Nonnapaporn
Historian/Publicity: Dana Jones
Corporate Relations: Bianka Welcker
Internal Social Chair: Shabnam Akbari, Julie Velarde
External Social Chair: Maria Gonzalez Ocha
ADEA/CDHEA Rep: Sabrina Vazquez
CDHA/SF/Alumni Rep: Caitlin Trusas

DDS 2020 Class Officers

President: Phil Miller
Vice President: Sara Greene
Class Rep: Ruchi Jain
Ethics Rep: Aaron Schubel
Co-Historians: Marina Kosturos, Duc Pham
Webmaster: David Zhang
ADEA Rep: Marwa Elkharsity
ASDA Rep: Letitia Edwards
CDA Rep: Stephanie Martini
SCOPE Reps: Jeff Stoker, Beniel Tamraz